Dvorak, A. - Serenade for Strings in E Major Op.22 B.52

Edition Zeza
SKU EZ-2028
Weight 0.60 LBS
Difficulty Intermediate-Advanced
Instrumentation String Orchestra (4-4-3-2-2)
Duration 30:00 Min.
Page count 55
ISMN 979-0-706065-73-1
Set of Parts
Score Type Required

Antonín Dvořák's Serenade for Strings in E major, Op.22 B.52, was composed in just two weeks in May 1875. It remains one of the composer's more popular orchestral works to this day.

Dvořák's Serenade for Strings consists of five movements:
   1. Moderato
   2. Tempo di Valse
   3. Scherzo: Vivace
   4. Larghetto
   5. Finale: Allegro vivace

With the exception of the Finale, which is in modified sonata form, the movements follow a rough A-B-A form. It is believed that Dvorak took up this small orchestral genre because it was less demanding than the symphony, but allowed for the provision of pleasure and entertainment. He combines several expressive characteristics throughout this piece; cantabile style (first movement), slow waltz (second movement), humorous high spirits (third movement), lyrical beauty (fourth movement) and exuberance (fifth movement).

String Orchestra (4-4-3-2-2)
30:00 Min.
Page count:
Set of Parts: