Handel, G.F. - Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.1 HWV 319 in G Major for Two Violins, Cello, Strings and Harpsichord

Edition Zeza
SKU EZ-2158
Weight 0.32 LBS
Difficulty Intermediate-Advanced
Instrumentation 2 Solo Vln, Solo Vc, Strings, Hpd
Duration 12:00 Min.
Page count 22
ISMN 979-0-706065-95-3
Set of Parts Includes Solo parts, Strings count (1 Harpsichord)
Score Type Required

The Handel concerti grossi Op.6 or Twelve Grand Concertos, HWV 319-330, are 12 concerti grossi by George Frideric Handel for a concertino trio of two violins and violoncello and a ripieno four-part string orchestra with harpsichord continuo.

Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.1 HWV319:
The first short movement of the concerto starts dramatically, solemn and majestic. The second movement is a lively allegro. The material is derived from the first two bars and a half bar figure that occurs in sequences and responses. The third movement is a dignified adagio, using similar anapaest figures to those in opening bars of the first movement. The fugal fourth movement has a catchy subject, first heard completely from the soloist. The last concerto-like movement is an energetic gigue in two parts, with the soloists echoing responses to the full orchestra.

2 Solo Vln, Solo Vc, Strings, Hpd
12:00 Min.
Page count:
Set of Parts:
Includes Solo parts, Strings count (1 Harpsichord)