Milhaud: Symphonie de Chambre No.2 Op.49

SKU MM-0009
Weight 1.40 LBS
Difficulty Intermediate
Instrumentation Fl, EH, Bsn, Vln, Vla, Cello, Cb.
Duration approx. 5 minutes
Set of Parts 1 part of each instrument
Score Type Required

The Little (Chamber) Symphony No. 2, Op. 49, by Darius Milhaud (not to be confused with Symphony No. 2) is a three movement piece written for chamber orchestra, consisting of flute, English horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, and double bass. Milhaud composed this piece in 1918, one year after his first chamber symphony. It was fairly early in his composing career, while he was still employed as a secretary to the French ambassador to Brazil. Milhaud wrote this short symphony at sea, during a return voyage to France. Influences of Latin American rhythms and references to South America’s picturesque landscape are present throughout the piece.

Despite slightly disconcerting polytonality, the three movements of the piece maintain traditional pastoral ambience, evoking images of nature through the various topoi (ideas symbolically suggested by the sounds of various instruments). Wind and string phrases generally begin and end at regular, coordinated intervals, even as they oppose each other harmonically and rhythmically.

The piece is dedicated to "Roseau et Pipeau," which are terms that refer to various types of flute are associated with pastoral themes in music.

Fl, EH, Bsn, Vln, Vla, Cello, Cb.
approx. 5 minutes
Set of Parts:
1 part of each instrument