Vaughan Williams - Tuba Concerto in F minor

Edition Zeza
SKU EZ-1993
Weight 0.34 LBS
Difficulty Advanced
Instrumentation Bass Tuba and Piano
Duration 13 Min.
Page count Piano (24), Tuba (7) pages
ISMN 979-0-706065-52-6
Score Type Piano Score and Part

Tuba and Piano reduction (Score and Part). Orchestral version available here.

While at first viewed as the eccentric idea of an aging composer, the Tuba Concerto, the first concerto written for the instrument, soon became one of Vaughan Williams' most popular works, and an essential part of the tuba repertoire for professionals.

Vaughan Williams wrote the Concerto for Philip Catelinet, the principal tuba player of the London Symphony Orchestra, on the occasion of the LSO's golden jubilee. It was given its premiere by Catelinet, with the LSO under the direction of Sir John Barbirolli, at London's Royal Festival Hall on June 13, 1954.

Bass Tuba and Piano
13 Min.
Page count:
Piano (24), Tuba (7) pages
Score Type:
Piano Score and Part