Vaughan Williams - Oboe Concerto

Edition Zeza
SKU EZ-2071
Weight 2.50 LBS
Difficulty Intermediate-Advanced
Instrumentation Oboe and Strings
Duration 20 min.
Set of Parts Includes Strings count
ISMN 979-0-53007-012-3
Score Type Required

Considered one of the most recognized concerti for the Oboe, Vaughan Williams began working on his Oboe Concerto immediately upon completion of his Symphony No. 5 in D major.

This pastoral piece is divided into three movements:

1. Rondo Pastorale (Allegro moderato)
2. Minuet and Musette (Allegro moderato)
3. Scherzo (Presto – Doppio più lento – Lento – Presto)

The concerto has an element of cyclic form. Each movement begins and ends with the same pentatonic theme, spanning an octave.

Oboe and Strings
20 min.
Set of Parts:
Includes Strings count